Close encounters with my own kind: NYC barefoot running workshop

Tuesday Junes 8th I went to the New York barefoot running workshop of Barefoot Ken Bob´s 2010 Summer Tour. It was great to listen to and learn from Barefoot Ken Bob and be able to share experiences with my fellow participants.

Although much of the content of the workshop is not new to me because I am an habitual reader of his site, TheRunningBarefoot.Com, the experience was nonetheless invaluable. A great deal due to the mere fact that I had never met another barefoot runner before (with the notable exception of my brother who is now also experimenting with barefoot running), much less an expert and guru of barefoot running and taken a workshop which he imparted. So it was a great motivator to see and meet so many people with whom I share an enthusiasm for barefoot running. Fortunately for me, we barefoot runners also apparently share an interest in online communication (by necessity, more than anything,) and thanks to that I feel very supported. But meeting people, beginners and veterans alike, was thrilling for me.

Another important part of what made this experience so great, of course, was to able to watch, ask and listen. For me, in particular, the concept of lifting the foot (instead of stepping and pushing-off) as a means of moving forward became clearer. It should be taken much more literally than one initially thinks.

Here you can find comments and pictures of the workshop, but the following are my own photos that I would like to share. And for a great and concise summary of Barefoot Ken Bob’s talk and more pics here at John Durant’s blog. Thanks to everyone who made this workshop possible!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Barefoot Lorena

I run barefoot and share that in my blog (english & spanish) • Corro descalza y lo comparto en mi blog (español & inglés) View all posts by Barefoot Lorena

One response to “Close encounters with my own kind: NYC barefoot running workshop

Leave a Reply

