First barefoot 5k race

Here’s my Sport City 5k race report! This is also the second half of my 10k for Barefoot Neil‘s 10.10 Virtual race (Happy birthday, Neil!).

I’m very proud to say this was my first official race that I ran barefoot and… my feet are great!! My official time was 31:22 (which is very good for me), but the most important result was having blister/pain-free feet, excellent sign.

Just look at my excited self!

Starting off I felt uncomfortable with all the people around me, took me a bit to get into my groove. This is me right after the finish line.

I guess this is my finally-i-did-it face. But this next pic I found hilarious, being checked out by an onlooking staff! (That’s a ‘WTF??’ expression if I ever saw one!)

And here is the obligatory post-race feet pic

Not bad! Caked in dust, but in fine shape.

You can check out my pace throughout the race here if you’re interested.

I feel very lucky and grateful to have received so much support from the online community of barefooters (dailymile, twitter, therunningbarefoot.com, yahoo forum, etc). Without them I would have never been able to do this and never found out I could love it so much.

About Barefoot Lorena

I run barefoot and share that in my blog (english & spanish) • Corro descalza y lo comparto en mi blog (español & inglés) View all posts by Barefoot Lorena

Leave a comment